Daniel Prandl

"The Hero's Journey" - EPK German

programmatic jazz -
Daniel's latest Album THE HERO'S JOURNEY

Through all times, in any culture it was the myth that gave humans orientation, showing them, what could be a successful life. Ancient legends, religious writings and folk tales from all over the world tell in many different forms the one unique truth, regardless of their origin or time of creation. It was Joseph Campbell, who started in the first half of the last century to search for a connecting item beyond the different narratives and developed the concept of the »monomyth«, published in his famous study „The Hero with a Thousand Faces“ (1949). 

The „Monomyth“-concept refers to the idea that all mythic narratives are variations of a universal great story and the metaphors found in diverse myths produce a consonance, one cantus firmus in the polyphony of truths. The basic structures, that Campbell explored, hidden behind different creative »masks«, appear everywhere, when you deal with good stories. You’ll find them not only in the big, sense-making master narratives of high culture, but also in everyday and popular culture. We are always surrounded by these micro-narratives, even if we don’t consciously know about it. Furthermore Campbells ideas have become very popular among writers, designers, in movies, marketing and psychology.

„The Hero’s Journey“ approaches the concepts of Joseph Campbell musically in a curious and most innovative way, transforming them into Jazz, Contemporary modern music and Improvisation. It’s a Song Cycle of twelve compositions, leading our hero and the listener out of the ordinary life into real adventure. Inner and outer resistance has to be overpowered until the final showdown is reached - and the hero returns with the one elixir that might heal the world.

Trusting in the subtle and powerful effects of music, which is able to speak directly to the listener, „The Hero’s Journey“ aims at Campbells goal to unlock some of the truths, which are hidden within the shapes of religion and myth. These are truths that are as relevant in life and storytelling as the laws of natural science are in the »real« world.

more

"Fables & Fiction" - EPK German

poetic piano jazz -
Daniel's first Album Fables & Fiction

Good stories don't need words, ideally, the music would speak for itself. Don't think so? Well, then it's about time to listen to Daniel Prandl's latest album "fables & fiction". Together with his fellow musicians Wolfgang Fuhr (saxes), Axel Kühn (bass) and Kristof Körner (drums) the Mannheim based pianist recorded nine originals inspired by characters, stories and legends from both, literature and mythologie.

"But it's not like that: let's read a poem by Benn and there's the tune. It's an abstract process of coding and decoding." Prandl's Modern Jazz is based on a playful simplicity - it's swinging, grooving, prancing or walking tiptoe. A song's personality might change instantly, just like the  literary role model it derives from. Often a simple idea may be sufficient, on other occasion more abundant statements are also welcome. Some tunes follow strict arrangements, others leave plenty of space for individual interpretation. What seems to be arbitrarity actually is volitional diversity: the piano player takes chances to max out the options of contemporary jazz. And his quartett offers more than rear cover, a balance of power is ubiquitous.

more

Daniel Prandl

"The Hero's Journey" - EPK

programmatic jazz -
das neue Album THE HERO'S JOURNEY von Daniel Prandl

 Vielleicht ist Joseph Campbell's "Der Heros in tausend Gestalten" eines der einflussreichsten Bücher des zwanzigsten Jahrhunderts. Die Idee des Monomythos, die dort erläutert wird, hat ihren Weg unter anderen zu Autoren, Psychologen, Werbern und Designern gefunden und entfaltet so auf der ganzen Welt ihre Wirkung. Dabei ist die Reise des Helden, die in Literatur und Film von der Antike bis zur Gegenwart zu finden ist und bei der der Held ein immer gleiches Schema von Situationen durchlaufen muss, keine Erfindung Campbells. Vielmehr handelt es sich um eine Wahrnehmung:

Denn die Mythen sind keine abstrakten Theorien oder seltsame Zeugnisse längst vergangener Zeiten, sondern Modelle für ein gelungenes Leben. Es geht darum, sich zu überwinden, mutig zu sein und somit als neuer Mensch aus der Geschichte herauszutreten - auf dem Weg zu einer neuen Reise. Hierbei geht es also nicht vorwiegend um die Bekämpfung von Drachen, sondern auch um die alltäglichen Abenteuer, die ein jeder von uns bestreiten muss. Die Heldenreise stellt ein grundlegendes Prinzip dar, das für das Leben und die Welt des Geschichtenerzählens ebenso gültig ist wie die Gesetze der Naturwissenschaft für die physische Welt.

Bereits beim ersten Album "Fables & Fiction" waren literarische Motive Quelle der Inspiration. Jetzt findet diese Arbeit ihre logische Fortsetzung in "The Hero's Journey". Es handelt sich nun nicht mehr um "kleine Reisen" aus den verschiedensten literarischen Welten, sondern um einen zwölfteiligen Zyklus, der die Heldenreise nach Joseph Campbell musikalisch nachvollzieht - Programmmusik im besten Wortsinn, die sich freilich speist aus den Klangbibliotheken des zeitgenössischen Jazz.

mehr

"Fables & Fiction" - EPK

poetic piano jazz -
FABLES & FICTION von Daniel Prandl

Gute Geschichten brauchen keine Worte, manchmal ist die Musik der beste Geschichtenerzähler. Zusammen mit seinen drei Mitstreitern Wolfgang Fuhr (Saxofone), Axel Kühn (Bass) und Kristof Körner (Schlagzeug) hat der Mannheimer Pianist neun Stücke eingespielt, die von Figuren, Geschichten und Legenden aus Literatur und Mythologie inspiriert sind.

Schriftsteller wie Gottfried Benn, Else Lasker-Schüler oder Franz Kafka standen dabei Pate. Wobei es Prandl bei seinen Eigenkompositionen nicht darum geht, die Literatur eins zu eins in der Musik zu spiegeln – das wäre einem wie ihm viel zu wenig. Das geschriebene Wort dient dem Jazzmusiker lediglich als Zündfunken: „Man sollte es sich nicht so konkret vorstellen: so, jetzt lese ich ein Gedicht von Gottfried Benn und dann entsteht ein Stück.“ Prandls Modern Jazz lebt von einer verspielten Schlichtheit, er tänzelt, groovt, swingt oder schleicht: manchmal wechseln die Klang-Charaktere (wie in den literarischen Vorlagen) binnen kürzester Zeit…

mehr